Multitude Monday: A Beginning

30 Aug

I did not want to get up this morning.

I’m sure I’m not the only person who feels like that on a Monday morning.

But this morning, I really struggled to get out of bed.

I rose slowly, and stayed in the shower longer than normal. I took less care with my outfit for the
day, and lounged in our recliner longer watching the news longer than I should have. I put on as little
makeup as possible, lazily dried and crunched my hair, as was out the door much later than I should
have been.

When I finally got on the road, tears began spilling down my cheeks.

I am tired of feeling like this Lord, I suddenly heard myself saying out loud.

Tired of not wanting to get up and face each day.

Tired of the monotony.

Tired of feeling like I don’t have a purpose.

But most of all, I’m tired of not having joy.

I get so caught up in my situation.  So caught up in where I’m at, that I become blind to the blessings.

I don’t want to live my life like that.

After a few lamentations, I began to pray that God would speak to my heart.  That He would replace my mornings of sadness with a new joy.  That He would show me that each day (even if I’m not exactly where I want to be) has a purpose.

So that’s why I’ve decided to join the Gratitude Community.  Each Monday I will be working my way toward my personal list of one thousand gifts.  My prayer is that God would use these Mondays to place a new joy in my heart, and a new courage as I face each week.

So here’s the start of my list:

1) A loving husband who embraces me despite my many faults
2) A job (and an income) in a terrible economy
3) The changing of leaves
4) The beginnings of cool fall nights
5) A cup of coffee and a good book
6) A full belly after a delicious meal
7) Another day to spend with those I love
8) A blanket on a cold night
9) A song reminding me of God’s faithfulness
10) A phone call from a friend that I love

holy experience

Want to know more about how you can join this community of gratitude?  Stop by here for details.

5 Responses to “Multitude Monday: A Beginning”

  1. missionmlis August 30, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    It's certainly hard to look at the blessings you have when your life isn't going the way you want it to be. It's so easy to get caught up in the sadness and not realize the good around you. I've had that before, and I worked so hard to get over it and see the good in my situation. I have a friend who was always able to make the best of a situation, and I often think I want to be like him. If he can do it, so can I. And he's dealt with much harder things than I have. He's my inspiration to find the good in all the bad and to count my blessings, which are many. If I don't stay positive and if I don't keep searching for the good things, I know there are days where I will never get out of bed. But I also know all things get better, especially if I don't wait around for things to get better but if I look inside myself and find the strength to make things better.

  2. Sara August 30, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

    Full bellies, loving it! And welcome to the Gratitude community.Delighted as always to splash around with you and drench myself in His goodness.Splashin,Sara

  3. Rachel @ The Cupcake Sprinkles In Life August 31, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    Amen!

  4. Emily September 1, 2010 at 2:27 am #

    Thank you for the inspiring post. I was doing the EXACT same thing Monday morning. Wish I would have stumbled across this then 🙂 Glad you have found a way to turn things around a bit, and thanks for inspiring me to do so as well!

  5. Modern Distaff September 1, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    This is such a good post. I've been struggling with this too. I've let the limitations of pregnancy and work on our house overwhelm me. But you are right there is so much gratitude, even in what seems like the frustrating parts of our lives. I'm elatedly grateful to be pregnant and to have a roof over our head to be doing work under. That's what I should focus on. I think I will check out Gratitude Community today.

Leave a Reply

