12 New Things: Ready to Run

26 Aug

As I wrote a bit ago, I'm participating in Sarah Mae's 12 New Things, I completed my first skill for the month of August!  Read a little more about the challenge here.  In the meantime, here's the story of my accomplishment of my first monthly goal!
 
For the month of August, I decided that I would start running on a regular basis
 
It may not sound like a big deal to some, but it's pretty huge for me.  When I was younger, working out was a lot easier.  When I was in grad school, I had a very flexible schedule, and fit walks, jogs and the occasional Pilates session into my schedule pretty regularly.  But once I graduated and moved into full-time cubicle-dom, I found myself neglecting fitness altogether.
 
I think this happens to a lot of people, but it made me feel horrible.  I gained 15 pounds in 6 months, which is something that has never happened to me before.  But there were a lot of factors (including sadness over not finding a job more aligned with my degrees) prevented me from actually getting off my butt and moving.
 
But not anymore.
 
A couple of weeks ago, when trying to put on a pair of pants that had fit just the week before, something snapped.  And it wasn't the button on my pants.  I knew that I had to do something or this would just keep getting worse.
 
So I made a plan to start running.  I tend to lose interest in a workout if it bores me, so I planned to run four times a week, on Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays.  This way I would only have to run two days during the work week.  I also established four-five jogging/running routes in my mind that would help each run to feel like a fresh journey.
 
And so far…I've been doing really well.
 
The first couple of outings were a struggle.  It had been a while since I'd really worked out, and my legs were hurting.  But after the first few times, I found myself getting into it.  Suddenly I found myself searching for running tips and gear on Google and sites like Women's Health and Runner's World.  Before, I used to dread workouts.  Now I find that I can't wait until my next one.  And that's an amazing feeling!
 
So what are your 12 New Things?  Let's support each other in our goals!
 
Image courtesy of Sean Dreilinger
5 Responses to “12 New Things: Ready to Run”

  1. Beth in NC August 26, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    Yay for you!!! I am on my last week of the Couch-to-5k. I have NEVER been a runner and it has been so rewarding to prove to myself that I can do it.Enjoy!

  2. Jamie August 26, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    Awesome re the running. Maybe finding a partner will help. I've done both — run solo for many years, then developed a steady running buddy. Right now I have a friend that drives up to my house most mornings at 5 am. We work out lots of our problems on those runs. Sign up for a 5K. That will help keep you motivated and you'll love how you feel after the race.

  3. Mommy Of Two Little Blessings August 27, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    I have never enjoyed running long distances, but walking…feel like I could go quite a ways walking. *smile* With a friend to talk with while walking is even better! *big smile* I wish you all the best in continueing this goal. Stay healthy and enjoy your time with Christ as you jog. *smile* Sincerely, Mommy of two little blessings & so much more!

  4. Rachel @ The Cupcake Sprinkles In Life August 28, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    Have fun- I made a goal for myself this spring- to run a 5k (my first) after I did it- I was on cloud 9. 🙂 Now I'm waiting for cooler weather to resume (I just can't run in the heat!)Awesome!

  5. everyday graces September 3, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    Congratulations on your running quest. I'm right there with ya!http://www.amberandstephen.com/amber/

Leave a Reply

