Don’t Throw Those Coupons Away: Review and Giveaway

17 Aug

Don't Throw Those Coupons Away!: A Mom's Guide to Saving Money at the Grocery Store (Volume 1)

I don’t know how many of you can relate to this, but I pretty naïve about the cost of things before I was married. I lived with my parents up until my wedding day. While I had certainly paid for a lot of my own things while I was living in their home (for my meals at school, clothing, gas, etc.), I had no idea what it was like to really budget.

Suddenly I was 25 and married, and responsible for rent, a car payment, credit card payments, utilities, etc. Add to that the price of basic living expenses, like groceries and the cost of gas, and I was overwhelmed. I had always been careful with what I spent (thrifty, you could say) but this was a whole new ball game.

The first three months of my marriage, I was unemployed, and money was tight. I had to find creative ways to save money wherever I could. We ate out less, cut out some of our unnecessary expenses, and I started clipping coupons. Even when I finally landed a job, I continued to clip coupons, having become obsessed with the idea that I could cut my grocery bill nearly in half.

When Kristin L. Peoples asked me to read and review her new coupon book, Don’t Throw Those Coupons Away: A Mom’s Guide to Saving Money At the Grocery Store, I jumped at the chance!

To be honest with you, I thought that this book might feature information that I’ve already read before. After all, I consider myself a pretty savvy coupon lady! And while Kristin’s book did contain some information I DID know, it showcased a lot of things I DID NOT know.

There’s more to couponing than clipping coupons from the Sunday paper, which is a point that Kristin makes several times within her book. That’s why I have downloaded printable coupons from sites like Coupon Mom and stores that I shop at frequently. But Kristin makes the amazing point that if you strategize when you shop, you can save even more money. For instance, if a local store has a discount day, wait to shop until that day. The combination of your already-clipped coupons and the store discount will help you to save big bucks!

Kristin also spent a lot of time speaking about rebates, which she argues are often ignored. I can certainly testify to that. I suppose my reasoning in the past was that I would have to pay money for postage. Well, the joke’s on me! Kristin presented an example where she paid $15 for a pack of toilet paper. She had a 50% coupon, which brought the cost down to $7.50. BUT, this toilet paper also included a $10 mail-in rebate. When all was said and done, Kristin was PAID $2.50 for her rolls of toilet paper! And while every scenario doesn’t play out like that, rebates shouldn’t be ignored. If you have the opportunity to get $20 back from money you spent on a $50 toaster, splurge on the 42 cent stamp and mail in the rebate!

Kristin devoted an entire chapter to talking about drug stores and ways that you can save there. I’ll be honest with you…I don’t do a whole lot of shopping at drug stores, but now that I understand the system a little bit better, I just might. Drug stores don’t typically offer as many coupons as grocery stores, but they do, however, frequently offer rebates and reward systems that can help you to save money!

Kristin offers a whole lot more tips, but I don’t want to spoil them all for you! I will say that one thing I would have liked to see was a more extensive list of coupon websites and sources. That aside, I picked up a lot of tips from her book that I can’t wait to put into action in my local grocery store.

Kristin has graciously offered to share her coupon knowledge with one of my readers. That’s right! I will be giving away one copy of Don’t Throw Those Coupons Away: A Mom’s Guide to Saving Money at the Grocery Store.


Here’s how you can enter:


Mandatory Entry: Follow Morning Cup With Meg using the Follow This Blog section in the right sidebar. Leave a comment letting me know that you’re a new follower. If you’re already following Morning Cup With Meg, let me know in the comments as well!

Extra Entries:

1) Tell me what you hope to learn from reading Kristin’s couponing book
2) Share this giveaway on Facebook
3) Share this giveaway on Twitter
4) Like Morning Cup With Meg on Facebook
5) Follow me on Twitter

Be sure to leave me a comment for each entry, so that they are counted!

This giveaway will end at 11:59 EST on Wednesday, August 25th.  Open to U.S. residents only.

Disclosure:  I was sent a copy of this book from Kristin L. Peoples through Business2Blogger for review.  No other compensation was received. All opinions expressed here are my own.

25 Responses to “Don’t Throw Those Coupons Away: Review and Giveaway”

  1. Smart Ass Sara August 17, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    I'm already a follower!

  2. Smart Ass Sara August 17, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    I have "liked" this blog on Facebook. 🙂

  3. Smart Ass Sara August 17, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    And I'm hoping I can learn how to use the online coupons. My problem is that the grocery store in our town doesn't take them, Walmart will never take them, so I'm left with Target- but Target doesn't always carry these things (mostly food items). But the Target in the next town over has the grocery area that's more expanded but still- having to drive 20 minutes one way to use a 30cent off coupon is annoying. So I'm hoping I can learn how to use these better- maybe I'm missing a super helpful hint. LOL!!

  4. chocoholic August 17, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    I'm a follower!rachel.beasley AT converse.edu

  5. chocoholic August 17, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    Like you, I will have lived with my parents (or in a dorm) until I get married so I would hope to learn howto start couponing.rachel.beasley AT converse.edu

  6. Angela August 17, 2010 at 11:26 pm #

    I actually know people who go to grocery store and leave with products in hand and the grocery store has actually give THEM money back because they had so many coupons. This is true. I plan on doing a profile on a friend who does it sometime in the near future on my blog. But, sounds like a cool book! I should probably read it!

  7. Karen Wanamaker August 18, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    There is a great thrill from saving more than 50% on your grocery bill…I don't get the chance to strategize like I used to now that I have the girls, but I saved over $500 one year just in coupons and and store sales on groceries.

  8. Traci Michele August 18, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    I hope to learn general coupon info!

  9. Traci Michele August 18, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    I liked you on facebook.

  10. Traci Michele August 18, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    follow you on twitter now 🙂

  11. Traci Michele August 18, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    I'm already a follower 🙂

  12. The Potential Trophy Wife August 18, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    I already follow your blog.

  13. The Potential Trophy Wife August 18, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    I already follow you on twitter but I did tweet about the contest.

  14. The Potential Trophy Wife August 18, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    I've already posted on facebook about the contest.

  15. The Potential Trophy Wife August 18, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    I have already "Liked" your page on facebook.

  16. The Potential Trophy Wife August 18, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    I'd be interested in reading the book so that I can understand the "ins and outs" of couponing better. I've never really learned the tricks of the trade and would love to cut our grocery bill.

  17. Debby August 19, 2010 at 12:55 am #

    I am a follower! Book sounds great!!!!

  18. Teddi Hermes August 19, 2010 at 2:39 am #

    My parents laugh at me and call me an old lady when I clip my coupons. Take THAT, Mom and Dad!

  19. Jill August 19, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    I'm a follower! I love coupons 🙂

  20. AmyLynn August 25, 2010 at 6:30 am #

    I'm following your blog. I would LOVE to start couponing but I am a bit overwhelmed. This book looks awesome! Thanks for the chance.

  21. AmyLynn August 25, 2010 at 6:32 am #

    I am looking forward to learning how to coupon. If I use a coupon it is usually just one coupon, and I save $0.50. I'd love to see how to get and use multiple coupons to save more.

  22. AmyLynn August 25, 2010 at 6:32 am #

    I Like Morning Cup With Meg on Facebook.

  23. AmyLynn August 25, 2010 at 6:33 am #

    Following on twitter: hillfam2005

  24. AmyLynn August 25, 2010 at 6:34 am #

    Shared on twitter. Tweet: http://twitter.com/hillfam2005/status/22077953539

  25. AmyLynn August 25, 2010 at 6:35 am #

    Shared on FB.

Leave a Reply

