My sister

11 Aug

This is my sister.
 
We celebrated her 20th birthday on Saturday, July 31st.  Celebrating a 20th birthday isn't usually a huge milestone, but as my family was eating dinner at Olive Garden that night, I couldn't help but think that my sister nearly passed away when she was born.
 
Back in 1990, she was born three whole months early.  I was five years old…unable to understand what was happening and how devastating it was to my parents.  Born at 1 pound 11 ounces, it didn't look good for my sister.   But my parents believed; they had faith in a God who heals.  And that is exactly what He did.  Today, at 20 years old, she is a healthy, beautiful young lady.
 
Sitting here, looking back at all of this, I am still amazed by a God who heals, who saves, who uses the smallest of beings.  Today, my sister is a godly young woman preparing to enter her third year of ministry school.  This…my sister's purpose, her entire life, would not have been possible without the healing hand of God.  What an awesome miracle!
 
Big or small, share a miracle that the Lord has done in your life or the life of someone you love.  I would love to hear your stories today. 
 
And for those of you who have lost a child, family member or friend, if there's any way that I can help or encourage you, please don't hesitate to contact me.  I would love to stand beside you and lift you up in prayer.
15 Responses to “My sister”

  1. SnoWhite August 11, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    praise the Lord for His work in your sister's life!

  2. Jenn @ South of Sheridan August 11, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    If I could share one miracle in my life this week, it's the start of working towards pregnancy … something I was unsure would ever happen b/c of the Muscular Dystrophy. I never knew A was born so premature! I hope she has a wonderful birthday!

  3. Beth in NC August 11, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    Praise God for bringing her through. I lost a niece who was born that size. Happy Birthday to your sister!

  4. Rachel @ The Cupcake Sprinkles In Life August 11, 2010 at 11:56 pm #

    Wow- Amazing! Happy 20th to your sister!

  5. Traci Michele August 12, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    Happy birthday to your sissy!So nice to meet another sister in the Lord. Don't you love in courage! Found you over there. I'm now following your blog.I blog over at Ordinary Inspirations. http://www.ordinaryinspirations.blogspot.comIt is really great to connect with you!Traci

  6. Melanie August 12, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    What a testimony of God's power! Happy Birthday to your sister!I'm so happy to find your blog via inCourage! 🙂 So nice to 'meet' you!Melanie~ melscoffeebreak.blogspot.com ~

  7. JDaniel4's Mom August 12, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    I hope she has a wonderful day! She had so much to overcome as a baby.

  8. Danielle August 12, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    So neat to look back at the miracles God has done in our lives! Thanks for stopping by today!!!

  9. Barbie August 12, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    Thank you for visiting my blog. I am so glad I found yours. I am all about coffee and conversation. Praise the Lord for the miracle of your sister! I am your newest follower! Blessings!

  10. Teddi Hermes August 12, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

    I am so proud of Arielle… So glad that she is going where God wants her to be. That really makes me happy. This post was sweet, Meg. I know you love your sister.

  11. Modern Distaff August 13, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    Wow, what a beautiful post. And a really wonderful reason to be celebrating such a milestone birthday. God is good. Thankful that He worked in your sisters life in that way.The miracle that God has worked in my life was a similar one. My daughter was born a month early and was found to have two severe heart defects. She was given a week or so to live from her diagnosis needing surgery, all the while she was still technically not due for another month, God designed her birth timing perfectly to grant us the time to fly out of state for surgery. He is so good and was there every step. I am expecting my second child, and while it is scary sometimes to imagine possibly experiencing this again, I know He is in control and I cling to that. This post of yours was so encouraging to me.

  12. The Potential Trophy Wife August 16, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

    Meg,Thank you for the reminder that God works in a way that we will never understand, until it is our time to understand.I have experienced two such miracles in my life…when my nephew was 18 months old he was diagnosed with Langerhans cell histiocytosis. This disease was once thought to be a cancer-like condition. More recently researchers have begun to suspect that it is actually an autoimmune phenomenon. When my nephew was diagnosed he was given a 20% chance of responding to the treatment (his condition was multi-system) and classified as terminal. I knew that God was there with him every step of the way. I never used the word terminal in reference to his condition. In my opinion he had a life-threatening illness and I had faith that he would be okay. I was fortunate to have a job that allowed me to be with my nephew and sister for every dr. appointment, surgery, proceedure and treatment. My nephew and I have an amazing bond and my sister was able to lean on me and depend on me in a way that she never felt she could. I was able to be the big sister for her that she so badly needed. My sister also started to pray again and to believe in a God that she had previously dismissed. He works in ways that we will never understand, until it is time to understand. My sister needed to find her faith again and she did. She needed to learn that she doesnt' have to do it all on her own, alone. She needed to know that God does not abanden us, even when we abanden him.My second miracle is similar to that of your sister. I have another nephew that was born at 24 weeks gestation. He is a handsome, independent 5 1/2 year old that is about to begin Kindergarten. My brother, sister-in-law and I have always been close, but this allowed me to be there for them as well, in a way that we'd never experienced before. My family has always been dysfuntional and fractured…thru the blessings of God, and extreme challenges, we are re-building our family. God is good. He walks with us in our daily lives and blesses us in ways that we don't even know. I'm so thankful for my faith in God and his presence in my life.Thank you for letting me share. Blessings on you and your family.

  13. Emily August 17, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    We serve a great and mighty God! Happy birthday to your sister!!

  14. Laura Ingalls Gunn August 17, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Praise Jesus! I am the mother of an 8 year old preemie and am thankful everyday. Your sister is a jewel.What a great post. Such a good reminder. Be blessed,Laura"Open the Door To Your Fear"

  15. Stacy August 17, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

    WOW. What a beautiful story of God's faithfulness :)) So glad I found you at (in)courage today!!

Leave a Reply

