To write or not to write…

5 Aug

I'm on newsletter lists for several of writing websites, and I often receive information about writing contests.  A part of me always thinks about doing it, but inevitably I always back off from the idea.  Perhaps it's because (like so many other writers out there) I'm worried about putting my thoughts out there for the world to read.
 
Lately I've been feeling that maybe it's time to start taking some chances when it comes to writing.  None of the other paths I have tried to carve for myself seem to be working out, so perhaps it's time to take a leap of faith.
 
Real Simple is hosting an essay contest, asking readers to finish the sentence "I never thought I'd…".  In my short 25 years there are a lot of things I never thought I would do.  There are so many ways I could go with that thought, but I'm really thinking that now is the time to express myself.
 
The truth is that aside from this blog, and the sites that I contribute to, I haven't written anything completely original in a long time.  I think it's time to start again.
 
If you were to participate in this contest, what would you write about?  Read more about the essay contest here, and read the previous winning essays here and here.
 
Photo courtesy of Real Simple
2 Responses to “To write or not to write…”

  1. missionmlis August 5, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    Wow, you and I are way too similar. I've been thinking the same thing lately. I've been wanting to get back to writing something I love. In fact I recently rescinded my withdrawl from the MA English program at KU because, once I finish the MLIS, I will need to get another degree to work in an academic library. After realizing I'm happier working in the trenches than in administration and wanting to get a second master's rather than a Ph.D., I considered doing Clarion's online Mass Media Arts and Journalism program. But I have had so many of those types of courses already. So I was thinking of going back to KU for the MA English and picking up courses in rhetoric and composition and in creative writing. I've heard within the next year they are working on adding more writing courses to the MA curriculum which is great because, as much as I love English lit, I would rather be writing. I would love to get back to writing poetry.I used to write poetry about anything I could connect to. And lately with spending so much time at home because I don't work as much as I used to, I'm really connecting more with my emotions and with what's going on in life. I've recently learned what all the fuss is about with connecting with nature. Poor sentence, I know, but you get the point.And I've never really submitted anything to contests but I know I should. You're right – putting your writing out there is incredibly difficult. Especially when it's something personal. It's easier to distance myself from the project when it's for a client, but when it's for myself that's different. And it's so hard to distance myself when it's poetry I write to get myself through something difficult.

  2. Jenn @ South of Sheridan August 5, 2010 at 6:28 pm #

    I actually started blogging as a way of writing on a regular basis. Now I realize that the way I write online is so much different from what the type of pieces that make me a "writer" if that makes any sense. I don't know what I'd write about for the essay, but I'm definitely going to think about entering. 🙂

Leave a Reply

