Book Review: Cast of Characters

12 Jul

Cast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God

Max Lucado’s Cast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God, is a collection of inspiring stories from a number of the author’s best-selling books.  So why read something you might have read before?  Lucado revisits these tales of biblical figures, and brings them together in one common theme: human and imperfect, this cast of characters is just like us.

Stories that you would expect, about biblical “favorites” such as Esther, Job and David, appear within these pages.  But Lucado also reveals the possible innermost thoughts of characters we don’t seem to think about as much, namely Joseph, the man who served as Christ’s earthly father.  I was struck by the parallels between Joseph’s life and my own…questioning the will of God, wondering if he had made the right decisions, pondering his own significance.

Significance, I think, is one of most dominant themes weaved throughout this book.  The chapter about the Samaritan woman reminded me that all human beings are looking for significance in a world that has often left us feeling broken and alone.  But, as in that day at the well, our lives our forever changed when the Son of God pours us that cup of life everlasting.

If you’re a person searching for purpose, wondering how God can use you, this book is a MUST-READ.  These stories will inspire you and bring your understanding of how God can use your life to a whole new level.

This book was provided to me free of obligation by Thomas Nelson books.  No other compensation was received in exchange for this review.  The opinions expressed here are my own.

2 Responses to “Book Review: Cast of Characters”

  1. Jenny July 13, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    You have intrigued me with this book and I've added it to my GoodReads.com list. This book sounds right up my ally and I plan to get my hands on it the first chance I get! THank you and I'm so glad you enjoyed the book.

  2. Teddi Hermes July 14, 2010 at 5:44 am #

    I really like when you do these book reviews, Meg. I have enjoyed a few different Max Lucado books over the years but I've never heard of this one.

Leave a Reply

