Testing Boundaries

29 Jun

This weekend my husband and I watched our nieces while his brother and sister-in-law were out of town.  Not only did it serve as a preview of parenthood, but it also taught me a spiritual lesson I hadn’t really expected.

Our oldest niece is in that age where she is testing all the boundaries.

I suppose my relationship with God has always been something like that.

Testing boundaries.  Asking why I am being asked to do something (or endure something).  Throwing out lots of attitude when I don’t get my way.

And after watching my nieces this weekend, I’ve started to see it from the other side.  I want to protect them.  I want what’s best for them.  I want them to be safe and happy.

That’s what God wants for His children.  That’s how He feels about each and every one of you.

7 Responses to “Testing Boundaries”

  1. The Homesteading Apartment June 29, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    Amen Meg (: It so easy to get caught up in what we can see right in front of us, but God knows the bigger picture. He wants the best for us and nothing less. Sometimes that means we don't get our way, but how wonderful that we have a Father who loves us enough to say "no" when we need it(:MicheleXOXO

  2. Jenny June 29, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    What an amazing perspective. God does want us to be safe and happy and everything that happens to us he already knew would come to be. I get frustrated at God sometimes when things aren't going the way that I intended them too and usually something like you just experienced this weekend awakens me, and reminds me that it's all about his plan and not mine. Glad you had a good weekend with your nieces.

  3. Crystal Horst June 29, 2010 at 5:41 pm #

    Simple yet great reminder!! 🙂 Thanks for sharing…it's true!

  4. Jenny June 30, 2010 at 12:48 am #

    Great post!!Sometimes it is hard to understand certain things until you see them from a different perspective.

  5. Faith Imagined June 30, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    It always amazes me how God uses children to teach adults a lesson!

  6. Theodora Hermes July 1, 2010 at 3:00 am #

    Never thought of that way before… thanks, Meg.

  7. Modern Distaff July 21, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

    Man, am I guilty of this. Sometimes I feel like God must be talking to the wrong woman! But he isn't, I'm just stubborn. Great view point. This was a good reminder of his love.

Leave a Reply

