Fear and Trembling

23 Jun

Isn't it strange, the things we fear?
 
When we are children, we fear monsters, bad guys, scary characters we see in movies or read about in books.
 
As we grow, these fears shifts and change.  The bad guys become something else entirely.
 
We fear failure.  We fear not having a purpose.  We fear death…the thought of a life not really lived.
 
I have been asking myself lately, what do I have to fear
 
Fear, if we allow it, morphs into other things.  Bitterness.  Hopelessness.  Emptiness.  Depression
 
I have allowed it to rip away my sense of purpose.  I have doubted myself, my abilities, and God's calling upon my life.
 
And enough is enough.  Proclaim victory over fear today.   

"Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you." – Deuteronomy 31:6

"The Lord is my light and my salvation–whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life–of whom shall I be afraid?" – Psalm 27:1

Image courtesy of Witness to Grace

6 Responses to “Fear and Trembling”

  1. SnoWhite {Finding Joy in My Kitchen} June 23, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    Thanks, Meg!! I needed to hear this today.

  2. Theodora Hermes June 23, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

    I was just thinking about fear last night when I was laying in bed, trying to sleep. It's really strange that it's what you wrote your post on today. I am very sorry that thing are so rough for you right now, Meg. I pray that you would find peace and contentment through God's grace and love. I am trusting that the best is yet to come for you.

  3. missionmlis June 23, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

    I think my fear of not being good enough has impacted some of my decisions. Of course that's also compounded with this fear that I'm messing up my life because every time I have a plan things never work out. Now that I've realized I have these fears, though, I'm working very hard to get over them. It's incredible what fear does to you. Actually this discussion reminds me of a line from Strictly Ballroom (for some reason I'm filled with more movie and TV references than literary references, which is odd for an English major) – "A life lived in fear is a life half-lived." It's true. Anyway, I'm trying really hard to get over my fears. This last year has really made me push myself to do that.

  4. Hello! I'm Kate. June 23, 2010 at 10:24 pm #

    Hi Meg! Stoping by from Angie's–I have been obsessing over the topic of fear for a few months now. It's driving me insane. I'm finally finding some peace- my favorite Bible verse for when I'm battling fear is 1 Peter 5:8-11…it's what I always read when going through crud!And my mom always told me F.E.A.R= False Expectations Appearing Real…this has become my mantra! lolThis was a great post & I'm a new follower!

  5. Jenny June 24, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    I love your choice of verses today, they are very appropriate. I too have had fear morph into other things lately. I'm a new follower, just found you. I'll be back again 🙂

  6. Faith Imagined June 24, 2010 at 11:46 pm #

    I so needed to read this post today! You have inspired and encouraged me!

Leave a Reply

