Still Learning

9 Jun

A couple of months back, my husband and I purchased our first digital SLR camera, the Canon XSI. 

Canon Digital Rebel XSi 12.2 MP Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black)

Since I work full time, I don’t normally have a lot of time to play around with it.  Lately I’ve been thinking, what’s the point of that purchase if I don’t take the time to learn how to create quality photographs? 

I’ll be honest.  When I hear ISO, aperture, shutter speed, my first reaction is “WHA?”  I basically know that if I turn knobs one way or the other, my photos get lighter or darker.  And in camera world, people, that’s just blasphemy.

So what am I doing to remedy this?  Well, first of all, I actually cracked open the Canon EOS Rebel XSi/450D Digital Field Guide that I bought a few months ago.  I have also been checking out the Pioneer Woman, where I’ve found great tips and beautiful photo actions.

So here’s hoping I can do something great with my new found skills.  Here are a few shots from my youngest niece Meredith’s birthday party.  The second shot is of my oldest niece, Tessa.

How about all of you?  Are there some photography tricks you’re just dying to master?

5 Responses to “Still Learning”

  1. Karyn June 10, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson is a fantastic book that I've found to be really helpful as a beginner with practical and easy activities to try with your camera as you're learning.http://www.amazon.com/Understanding-Exposure-Photographs-Digital-Updated/dp/0817463003/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpi_1

  2. WhoAmI June 10, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    You better believe it! Panning, Lighting techniques, portrait photography, HDR, creative long-exposure shots… just to name a few!

  3. Kelly @ The Startup Wife June 10, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    I love those shots!I think that's the same camera we got, and I, too, am uneducated. I just do what you do–turn the knob. 😉 But you're right, it makes so much more sense to actually LEARN what everything is and take advantage of it, right?

  4. carlotta June 12, 2010 at 12:25 am #

    This post is so timely! I got my first DSLR yesterday, and I was desperate to learn how to have the subject in focus and the background blurry…I finally figured it out after lots of frustration and sighing.I've been loving Pioneer Woman's tutorials as well.

  5. GlowinGirl June 12, 2010 at 8:13 am #

    Girl, I wish I could figure mine out! There are so many tricks that I'm trying to learn, but it's a fun excuse to take tons of pix. Some CUTIE-pie girls there! Gotta love nieces and nephews. I haven't had the pleasure of nieces, but my sis has three nephews, and since she's seven years older than me, I really got to enjoy them before I had kids of my own!

Leave a Reply

