20 Dollar Dates

7 Jun

Photo by The Nest

Today must be the day for twenty dollar dates!  Kelly over at The Startup Wife shared a great post about a recent date with her husband, and today I received an email from The Nest that included a list of 20 Hot Dates Under $20.

My husband I love to come up with creative (and cheap!) ways to enjoy a great date.  When money is tight, we love to do at-home movie nights.  Thanks to Red Box and Netflix, these movie marathons are way cheaper than they used to be.  When we travel, we love to visit historic sites, which are usually free!  Taking a walk on a cool night is another favorite!

How about you?  What’s your go-to cheap date?

4 Responses to “20 Dollar Dates”

  1. The Homesteading Apartment June 8, 2010 at 4:08 am #

    Okay…I've a got a few simple ideas. Surprise night. The other person plans the entire night, but the catch is it can only cost $10 and they must make everything themselves. It can get pretty interesting, pretty fast (:Anything on a rainy night is a winner for me. My favorite is a picnic dinner under a covered area of course. If it's been a warm day the rain cools things off and it deters the bugs when you light the candles (:Get adventurous! Rent a canoe or kayak and take it on the water. Go for a hike or make things really fun and get a two person tent and go camping (even the backyard can work for this one). Sometimes the simplest things can be the most fun, especially if you've never done it before (:

  2. Kristyn June 9, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    I love her idea about a picnic on a rainy night. I may have to give that a try, especially since there's not a lot to do in our little town! It's supposed to rain tomorrow, maybe just the thing!My husband and I just love to spend the evening together at home, watching movies. We also like to just go for a drive and chat (though we've done that less recently, gas being so expensive).

  3. Amy Sullivan June 9, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    Okay, I know this isn't for every location, but a fire in the backyard is one of my favorite, favorite, cheap dates!

  4. Kelly @ The Startup Wife June 10, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    Oh, historical sites are a GREAT call! I bet there's totally a ton in my area that I've never seen, too.

Leave a Reply

