Relevant Conference 2010

5 Jun

Country Bob’s Sauce It Up blog is hosting a giveaway of something that I really want to win.  If you know me, you know that I love giveaways, but there’s something about this one that is just different.

Why?  Country Bob’s is giving away a ticket to the 2010 Relevant Conference.

What’s that?, you might ask.

I’ll let the Relevant Conference Mission Statement speak for itself:

The Relevant Conference exists to offer a place of face to face interaction with Christian women bloggers who want to be relevant in the larger blog and social media world. Our goal is to go beyond the surface into intentional blogging and real life living. We support women turning their hearts toward home and using their blogs to bless their families while also engaging the world for the glory of God. Relevant is a one-of-a-kind conference that seeks to engage women by teaching blogging techniques and social media skill while also urging and encouraging women to live fully integrated lives with their faith and family.

I’ll be honest, I first heard about this conference while reading Like A Warm Cup of Coffee.  I was intrigued, but didn’t think I’d be able to afford it.  About a month later I traveled back to the Relevant Conference website, and discovered something I had overlooked previously…the conference is taking place in Harrisburg, about an hour and half from where I live.  

But that’s not really why I want to go. 

Over the past several months, mainly through the InCourage website, I have stumbled upon the blogs and websites of good Christian women who have inspired me and provided encouragement in times when it was desperately needed.  I may never meet them face to face, and they may never stop by this blog or know who I am, but they have made a true impact on my life.

On the Relevant Conference website, they invite kindred spirits to join them at the conference, and provided a list of items that qualify readers as these kindred spirits.  Here are just a few that I felt really hit home with me:

  • You enjoy meaningful conversation over a warm drink
  • You are a woman who seeks after the savior
  • You soak up every bit of grace a day offers
  • You are a writer (you are!)
  • You need to see that other women don’t have it all together and that you are not alone
  • You do this blogging thing
  • You have really tough days
  • You have really great days
  • You have laundry piled up
  • You have met some true friends online
  • You want to be a blessing to your family

The one that really resonates in my very heart of hearts is this: “You need to see that other women don’t have it all together and that you are not alone.”

I’ve been thinking about this a lot.  As a Christian woman, I often compare myself to others.  I am painfully aware of my shortcomings, and sometimes when I see other women doing great things to inspire and encourage others, I think, “Man, I want to be like them.” 

But over the past several months I have encountered the blogs and websites of women who lay it all out there.  These beautiful, inspiring women reveal their hearts in a real, refreshing way that has shown me that nobody has this thing called life figured out.  We are all struggling to make sense of things and hopefully, make an impact that will truly last.

So why do I want to go to the Relevant Conference?  I want to be in the midst of these Godly, purposeful women.  I want to learn techniques that will make me a better blogger and writer.  I also want to learn how to better balance my desire to reach out in the online community with my responsibilities as wife, daughter, sister and friend.

So here’s hoping I win! 

I’ll actually be reviewing Country Bob’s All-Purpose Steak Sauce within the next few weeks, so in the meantime, be sure to check them out on their website, on Facebook, and on Twitter @CountryBobs.

2 Responses to “Relevant Conference 2010”

  1. Jenny June 7, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    I hope you win! I'm also new over at High Calling Blogs and thought I'd stop in and introduce myself.

  2. Rachel @ The Cupcake Sprinkles In Life June 7, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    I hope you can go too! If you do~ I'll see you there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

