Lost: The Final Recap

26 May
My final Lost review is now up at Blissfully Domestic!
I still can’t believe that one of my favorite shows is over.  Unlike so many out there, I didn’t start watching Lost until the third season.  My husband (then my boyfriend) “forced” me to watch the first episode on DVD during the summer after the second season aired.  After the pilot episode, I was hooked!  I watched two seasons in less than a month and became a die-hard fan.
I’ll be honest.  I lost some faith in the show during the fourth season because it started to feel more like a soap opera than an intelligent sci-fi drama.  But the fifth and sixth season reminded me why I love this show.  Sure, there’s mystery, and that’s fantastic.  But this show, ultimately, was about wonderful, complex characters and the meaningful, lifelong relationships they created because of the island.
The final episode serves to demonstrate this.  Many episodes of season six provided us with answers to long-burning questions: What is the island?  Who is Jacob?  Why did he bring them here?  But this episode provided something different, something that every character of this show had been looking for during all six seasons: a little redemption and the ability to let go.
A lot of fans and critics alike have complained about the end of the series.  They don’t like that the writers chose to end the series with an afterlife experience.  I think the bottom line is that a lot of people were confused about what really happened.
In one of the final scenes, Christian Shephard makes it clear to his son that yes, they both are dead.  All of the people in the church are dead.  But, (and this is where people have become confused) Christian makes it clear that Jack’s experiences on the island were real.  His sacrifice was real, his purpose was real.  He also reveals that some friends died before him, and that others long after.  In other words, Jack’s final moments in what we believed to be an alternate island universe were actually his final moments on earth.  His sacrifice paved the way for his friends to really escape the island, and perhaps live long lives after his death.  In his final moments on the island, as he lays in the field, he smiles when he sees the plane flying overhead.  And in a final full-circle shot, he closes his eyes in death.
I can understand why some people are upset about this.  But on the other hand, I think it’s a moving tribute to the power of love and the relationships that were formed between these people.  Though years separated their deaths (Boone and Shannon died in earlier seasons, and Kate exclaimed that she had missed Jack so much, implying her death years after his) the relationships that were created on the island allowed them to create a place where they could meet and move on to the afterlife together.  Regardless of your beliefs, I think anyone can appreciate that.
In this life, and certainly in the Lost world, happy endings aren’t always guaranteed.  But in ending Lost this way, the writers provided our favorite characters with the love, redemption and community they deserved after so much suffering.
2 Responses to “Lost: The Final Recap”

  1. SnoWhite {Finding Joy in My Kitchen} May 26, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    Best review I've read — thanks for sharing your thoughts about LOST!!I have to admit…it was strange to not watch LOST last night. 😦

  2. Eleni May 27, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    Yeah, I didn't find the ending confusing. And I liked the sentiment of them all finding each other in the afterlife before moving on. Still, I didn't understand why this afterlife in which they'd find each other would take the form of what their lives might have looked like if they hadn't been affected by the Island. The only reason I could think of was that they wanted to trick us into thinking the afterlife was a flash-sideways reality, which is disappointing. Any other ideas?My thoughts/review/reflection on the Lost finale is here.

Leave a Reply

