Repetition is Necessary

11 May
Reading through 2 Chronicles 2-5, today’s daily word, I was struck by something.  Not so much by the words themselves, but the structure.  Reading through Chronicles is like reading through earlier passages of the Bible for the second time.  A majority of these scriptures are simple reiterations of stories that have come before.  I found myself starting to skim over some of the reading, when I felt the Lord speak something to me.
I wouldn’t repeat myself if it wasn’t important.
Whoa!  I normally have to sit in awe for a few moments at any prompting I feel from the Lord, but this one hit me especially hard.  God has to repeat himself for one simple reason.  We.  do.  not.  listen.
How many times does God repeat himself in the Bible?  Love your neighbor, walk in the ways of the Lord, wait on the Lord, flee from evil.  Just think of the Israelites.  They wasted so much time wandering through the desert because they could not listen.  But this applies to us too.  How many times do we (I) ignore him?
Remember when faith was easy?  Think back to childhood.  You prayed and simply believed that things would be alright.  You somehow knew that God was working on your behalf.  So where is that faith?  When did it change?
Too often I take things in to my own hands.  Too often I think think that my way is better.  And too often, I fall on my face because I didn’t listen to the Lord the first time when He tried to spare me.  No wonder He has to repeat himself. 
4 Responses to “Repetition is Necessary”

  1. Rachel May 11, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

    Thanks for coming over to my blog.I love this post, and your writing. You have great insight on faith. I've walked such a journey of faith, starting to when I was completely humbled (when my husband was diagnosed with cancer and we were out of work for almost one year). During that time my preconceived notions of faith were thrown out the window. I had to surrender.Love your blog.Rachel

  2. Janette@Janette's Sage May 12, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    Very good and so goes with my post today…recounting the past for my children.When I repeat and repeat to my kids I remember that the Lord does that with me also…oh that I would always respond on the first prompt.Enjoyed,…Janette

  3. Kelly @ The Startup Wife May 13, 2010 at 5:52 am #

    Wow, such a simple truth, but for some reason I never really thought about it like that. But that's really a great point, and I'm so glad you shared it.And thanks also for your comment on post about what-doesn't-kill-me-makes-me-stronger–it was so encouraging to have that reminder of how God works in ways we don't even see. I'd love to hear more sometime!

  4. sexylegsandbody May 18, 2010 at 2:58 am #

    Hmmmm, makes me think, aren't we (I) all guilty of that. Very true, and quite funny that I had to read this post today. Almost like I was send here. What are the chances that one would find a blog, and then find the correct post to read by accident. I do not believe in coincidence, I believe every thing happens for a reason… so there must be reason for me reading this also. Best is, I know exactly what that reason is… Have a wonderful day.Colin.

Leave a Reply

