What I Want…

27 Apr
Over the past couple of weeks I've been thinking about why I started writing here.  Then that turned into why I started writing on internet back in the xanga days.  I know, I know, it's hard to even remember that far back.
 
I suppose the most straight-forward answer is that I wanted to share.  There was a part of me that wanted to post ideas and creative works.  Maybe it was more for myself, to prove that I had the guts to share some of my most personal work with someone other than myself. 
 
After xanga, I moved to Blogger, and then to WordPress.  I think I moved around so much because I was simply struggling to find my voice.  I suppose that's kind of what I've been going through lately.  I feel that sometimes my voice is lost in all this mish-mash of things I've become interested in over the past several years.  And I suppose it's easy to see why.  I'm interested in a LOT of things.
 
I love to read, and I like to write about what I read.  I love well-written television and movies, and (you guessed it) I like to write about them.  I like to share my own writings, but I haven't been doing that as much lately because I honestly haven't had the time to sit down and write like I used to.  I guess the 9 to 5 schedule will do that to you.
 
In the past couple of years, I've grown interested in home improvement.  So much so that I'd like to start writing more about the stuff I've been doing around our apartment to make it look nicer.  But I've been struggling with how to fit that in to a blog that already seems to cover so many topics. 
 
On top of that, most of you who read this know that I like to talk a lot about what's going on in my own spiritual searching.  So how do I fit all of this together?
 
I wish now that I had kept my blog at xanga open.  When I think back to those days, I remember just writing what I felt, and that was a good thing.  I'm starting to wonder what it is these days that is making me so afraid.
 
Thought it does scare me, I want to get back to sharing those ideas.  The thing that made xanga so awesome was the community.  I want this blog to be a place where I can share my heart openly as I did back then.  I want to touch the hearts of other people, and to be honest, I want to hear about your experiences as well.  I learned so much from people in the xanga community.  I started friendships there that I cherish to this day.  I want this blog to be that kind of place again.
 
That said, over the next couple of days, you will see some changes to the way I format things around here.  I will be implementing a new design, complete with new artwork and photos.  I will also be closing my Daily Word blog, and integrating the work from there to this site.  I haven't figured out all the logistics yet, but I've realized that rather than trying to split myself into all these different pieces and interests, I want to share everything here. 
 
I hope that you'll join me.  I have so much to learn from this journey called life.  How about we learn from it together?
One Response to “What I Want…”

  1. SnoWhite {Finding Joy in My Kitchen} April 28, 2010 at 6:06 pm #

    how exciting! I'm looking forward to the changes 🙂

Leave a Reply

