Cool Grocery Bags

22 Apr

Before I start this post on Earth Day, I just want to make something clear.  I wouldn’t necessarily call myself a treehugger.  Do I see the value in what so many refer to as “green” living?  Sure.  It’s important to know what sort of chemicals we’re using in our homes and putting inside of our bodies.

But that’s only part of why I share some of my favorite sites to find reusable grocery bags.  Plastic bags take YEARS to break down in landfills.  That much is definitely true.  But what’s also true is that I get sick and tired of trying to figure out what the heck to do with plastic bags when I get home from the grocery store.  I started buying reusable canvas bags, which are available now in most department stores.  It just makes life more simple.  I put them in my trunk and take them out whenever I head into the store.

But like everybody else, sometimes I forget, and as soon as I get to checkout I sigh as the cashier starts to place all of my purchases in plastic bags.  And have you ever noticed that they always seem to put only two to three items in a bag? 

A friend of mine has one of these adorable reusable bags from Chico, and I just ordered one.

Not only do they come in great prints, but they fit easily into a provided pouch that you can throw in your purse and go!  That way you’ll never forget it.  Great right?

Blue Avocado is another site that offers great reusable bags.  Some of them are a bit pricey, but they come in a variety of sizes so you can choose the bag that’s perfect for you.

And like I said, if you don’t want to spend the extra cash, you can always buy similar bags at your favorite local stores.  Happy shopping!

One Response to “Cool Grocery Bags”

  1. **Nicole** April 26, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

    LoL–I love this because I started out my Earth Day post with an almost identical disclaimer–hey I'm not a weird tree hugger BUT 😀

Leave a Reply

