Happy where we’re at…

9 Feb
Just the other day while driving to church, my husband and I realized that we know thirteen women that are pregnant.  Thirteen.   I guess it's not so staggering when you consider that he and I called last year the "Year of the Wedding."  Well, it's looking like 2010 is officially "The Year of the Baby."
 
I can't tell you how many times I've been asked different versions of essentially the same question, literally since the day we got married:  "So when are you planning on having kids?", "How many kids do you want?", and my favorite, "Are you pregnant?"  Guys, if I'm looking fat, you can just tell me, seriously.
 
I know that people are just curious, and don't get me wrong, I want children someday.  I long to be a mother and hold that first tiny miracle in my arms. 
 
But I've been married less than 9 months.  My husband and I don't want to rush things.  We're still learning to live with one another, still learning how to love each other unselfishly, unconditionally.  We want to be responsible.  We want to get some debt and other things under control before we become parents.  Most importantly, we want to do it in God's timing, and we just don't feel He's pushing us there yet.
 
For others, it's different.  Each couple has a unique situation and the right to make their personal decisions.  We're just not there, and we're happy where we're at.
 
So, just to clarify, I may need to hop on a treadmill a few more times a week, but I don't need to buy any diapers just yet…
One Response to “Happy where we’re at…”

  1. SnoWhite February 9, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

    Love what you have said… "We're still learning to live with one another, still learning how to love each other unselfishly, unconditionally. We want to be responsible. We want to get some debt and other things under control before we become parents. Most importantly, we want to do it in God's timing, and we just don't feel He's pushing us there yet."I raise my glass to that!

Leave a Reply

