An announcement of sorts

10 Dec

Those of you who are my friends on Facebook already know this little tidbit, but I thought I’d announce it here anyway.

Every year that the holidays roll around, people start talking about their new year’s resolutions.  Some people set goals to read more books, or lose some weight.  Others make more life-altering declarations, deciding that they want to go back to school or find a different job.

Almost every year that I’ve made a resolution, I’ve abandoned it around February.  I’ve been really praying about what I could do to make 2010 different, a real year of change in my life.  I recognize now that my previous resolutions failed because I was doing them for all the wrong reasons.  It was about about self-improvement, not commitment to something greater than myself.

That said, I’ve decided that 2010 is going to be year that I get through the entire Bible, cover to cover.  I’ve never done it before.  I’ve read portions of nearly every chapter, but never the entire work in its entirety.

Why do this?, you might ask.  What if you fall off the wagon like years past?

I want to know more about God.  That seems so cliche, but I do.  I want to understand His ways.  I have questions.  So many questions about life, faith and everything in between.  Where better to find the answers than in His Word?

I’ve found a Bible reading plan that only asks me to read three to four chapters a day, and five to six once I’m in Psalms and Proverbs.  I never realized I would have to read so little to get through it in one year.  My daily devotionals had me reading more sometimes.  Plus, I’ve set up a blog to track my progress.  This way, people who want to join in will know where I’m at, and we can all hold each other accountable.

If you’re interested, join me over the Daily Word with Meg.  I’m really excited to see who will participate, and what God has planned in 2010!

One Response to “An announcement of sorts”

  1. Kate December 10, 2009 at 4:34 pm #

    Me too! I dug out my old KJV this month and I'm working through it. I'm reading it slowly because I'm savouring the beautiful use of the English language.

Leave a Reply

