Which books would you pick?

9 Nov

The 1% Well-Read Challenge continues!  I’ve read eight of the ten books I need to fulfill the requirements of the challenge, which gives me hope that despite a hectic schedule, I might actually have time to complete the challenge by the December 31st deadline.  You can read a little more about the challenge here, and download the list of 1001 books you must read before you die here.   Since I heard about this so late in the game, I counted some books that I read this past summer, as well as toward the end of my last semester in grad school in the spring.

Here’s what I’ve read (on the list) since March 1, 2009:

1) Howard’s End by E.M. Forster
2) Ethan Frome by Edith Warton
3) Sister Carrie by Theodore Dreiser
4) The Awakening by Kate Chopin
5) The Portrait of A Lady by Henry James
6) The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
7) Mansfield Park by Jane Austen
8) Oroonoko by Aphra Behn

After looking over my choices, I’ve realized that I seem to be lacking some more modern texts.  Looking over the list, which two modern texts would you recommend to me?

Leave a Reply

