Holiday Decorating

3 Nov

I’m crazy about decor, and get even more obsessed with it when the holidays roll around. 

Real Simple has posted a slideshow of Five-Minute Holiday Decoration Ideas, some of which are really cute.

Beeswax Pinecone Candles, $8 from fredflare.com.  These are really cute and perfect for anybody who doesn’t have a lot of time to decorate, but still wants to make a statement.  Place them on a red, green, or silver tray for an extra touch.

A cozy (and easy!) fire – Create a warm fire anywhere with this DVD from plasmawindow.com.  Pop it in for an intimate date night at home or when guests over for a holiday party.
Pinecone Centerpieces – Jars like this can be bought at Walmart, and all you have to do to find pinecones is step outside your door.  Real Simple recommends that you paint that gold and silver for extra sparkle.  You could even use some adhesive and sprinkle some glitter in shades of red, green, silver and gold, for a more subtle but still sparkly touch.  I’ve also used vases like these with christmas balls, which also looks really pretty.
In addition to these, I like to use a plain brown wreath, and string different garlands and ribbons on it as the seasons change.  This way you only have to buy one wreath, 5 or 6 garlands to change seasonally or around special holidays, additional decorations or ribbons if you feel so compelled, and brown twine or wire to attach everything.  (Pictures coming soon!)
Anybody have any holiday decorating ideas?  What area of your home do you most like to decorate for the holidays?
3 Responses to “Holiday Decorating”

  1. kelleidoscope November 3, 2009 at 10:41 pm #

    I wish I had my own place to decorate, but I'm very big into ribbons, flowers.. colorful things. In the winter, I'd have to have lots of cinnamon and vanilla smelling things. Actually- my brothers wedding was fall themed and they had gorgeous decorations. I'd probably steal some ideas from that 🙂

  2. Wednesday November 4, 2009 at 12:07 am #

    You sound just like my stepmother. She adores Christmas and four to two months before it rolls around is frantically searching for new decorating ideas. Last year, for the first time in many years, my fingers were stained from cranberries with little bits of popcorn sticking to them. I haven't made one of those strings for the tree since I was eight. I only wish I felt as inspired as you do for the holidays.

  3. Julia November 4, 2009 at 7:35 am #

    this has nothing to do with holiday decorations, but i love that you do book reviews on this blog! i look forward to following it!

Leave a Reply

