Fight for Preemies

22 Oct

March of Dimes is a fantastic organization, but one effort they support that has always been close to my heart is the fight to prevent and understand premature births. According to this site, “every year, 20 million babies are born too soon, too small and very sick ― half a million of them in the United States.”

On this same website, they ask a question, “Do you know a baby that was born too soon, too small, unable to suck, unable to breathe on his/her own?”

My answer is yes. My sister was born three months premature over 19 years ago in 1990. My mother had a healthy pregnancy, but like a lot of mothers who face premature birth, “it can happen without warning and for no known reason.” At 1 pound 11 ounces, I don’t know if even my sister’s doctors expected her to live long. Thanks to God, who answered the fervent prayers of so many people, my sister is now a healthy, normal 19-year-old young woman in her second year of college. Though God certainly deserves first credit, I have to say that if not for organizations like March of Dimes and much needed medical advancements, my sister might not be here today.

So what can we do to help?

Go to this March of Dimes page to learn more about premature birth. Sign up for the March of Dimes Fight for Preemies. Spread the word by sharing this badge (or one of the badges offered at the site) via facebook, twitter, or other networks and blogs. You can also grab different size badges here.

You do not have to donate money to the cause, though you can donate here if you feel compelled. This is about spreading the word, raising awareness, and making a promise to blog about this cause on 11/17/09, National Prematurity Awarness Day. Let’s raise awareness about this issue, so that more babies have a chance to live full lives.

Thanks to Gen at The McNulty Quads for pointing me in the direction of the pledge site!

3 Responses to “Fight for Preemies”

  1. The McNulty Family October 22, 2009 at 3:05 pm #

    Meg – thanks so much for the kind note, and for participating in Fight for Preemies!!Great blog btw – please keep us posted!Conor, Gen, Russ, Molly, Ally, Libby, & Russ McNulty

  2. Barbara Squires October 22, 2009 at 9:43 pm #

    Your husband was also a preemie! He was born seven weeks early weighing 5 pounds 4 ounces. Thankfully he was fully developed. I too had a healthy pregnancy; we traveled over the Christmas vacation and I got strep throat and Ryan was born as a result of my illness.

  3. Meg October 23, 2009 at 6:58 am #

    Oh yeah I know! I couldn't remember the details of his birth when I was writing this, and couldn't get in touch with him, and I didn't want to get my facts wrong. But this just goes to show how deeply someone's life can be touched by premature births. Two major people in my life have been born prematurely! I really hope that with more research and investment into this issue, doctors can start to understand why this happens, and perhaps be able to start taking some preventative measures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

