Summer Reading List: Part I

14 Jul

You would think that while I’m sitting at home, I’ve been doing a lot of reading, but the truth is I have not started hacking into my summer reading list yet.  These aren’t your traditional “beach reads,” but they are certainly the books I plan on getting my hands on within the next two to three months.

mansfield park

Mansfield Park by Jane Austen.  Would you believe I’ve read every single Austen novel but this one?  I really want to dive into this one sometime within the next week or so.

chaucer

The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer.  I’ve read several of the tales, but never have read this classic in its entirety.  I’m looking forward to reading this one soon as well.

Those are just two of the classic (oh let’s just say it) canonical works I plan on reading this summer.  I also wouldn’t mind reading a few modern fictional works that I’ve heard are good, like Memoirs of a Geisha and My Sister’s Keeper.  I also wouldn’t mind getting my hands on some historical fiction.  I read Edward Rutherfurd’s Princes of Ireland a few years ago, and would love to read London, which has received rave reviews since its 1997 release.

So, as you can see I have a lot of reading to do.  I suppose that means I should log off of here for the night.

Leave a Reply

