Great movies I’ve seen lately…

13 Jan

Ryan and I like to consider ourselves movie aficionados.  We go to the theater a lot, we rent a lot.  I decided to compile a list of great movies I’ve seen lately, for my, and hopefully your, enjoyment.

Gran Torino – I saw this movie just last Friday, and I’ve got to say, despite the violence and the language, I really enjoyed the film.  I’ve seen a number of films that Eastwood has directed, and I have to say that I think this is by far his best.  Walt’s story is one of loss, friendship, sacrifice and redemption, and though not the best film for the family, it certainly delivers a great plot.

Changeling – I figure that I might as well get both Eastwood films out of the way from the get-go.  Despite some very graphic scenes, I really enjoyed this film, as it detailed the story of Christine Collins’ tragic loss of her only son.  Angelina Jolie delivered a powerful performance, and Eastwood really delivered the look and feel of the 1920’s through various cinematic tools and techniques.

Iron Man – Though I didn’t exactly see this recently, it is definitely one of the best comic-book-based films that I have seen.  Is anybody else as uber excited as I am that Robert Downey Jr. is making a HUGE comeback?  I’ve always loved him, and the love certainly didn’t stop flowing after seeing him in this role.  He was at his best, and the killer special effects didn’t hurt either.

Get Smart – There’s really not too much I can say, except, I LOVED this movie.  Steve Carell was as hilarious as ever as Max Smart, and Anne Hathaway and Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson produced great supporting performances as well.  When slapstick humor and crazy gadgets collide, your movie experience is bound to be fun!

The Dark Knight – Everyone eagerly awaited this movie for a long time, and with Heath Ledger’s untimely death, audiences were more than curious to see what sort of performance he delivered in his last role.  I am more than overjoyed to say that this film didn’t let me down in the least, as Ledger delivered an amazing (and somewhat disturbing) performance.  And what can I say about Christian Bale?  Isn’t it great when one of the most attractive actors on earth can also um…really act?

Eagle Eye – Despite the fact that it’s getting a little irritated that Shia Lebeouf is everywhere lately, I really enjoyed this movie.  Though the plot was more than a little far-fetched, isn’t escapism why we all go to see movies anyway?

Australia – Australia is a sweeping narrative about Australian life, weaving together the tales of an English aristocrat, a cattle driver and an aboriginal young boy.  Nicole Kidman and Hugh Jackman give great performances and let’s just say it, their chemistry is boiling hot!

Those are just a select few.  Maybe next I will talk about the movies I HAVEN’T enjoyed in the past couple of months…

One Response to “Great movies I’ve seen lately…”

  1. coffee January 15, 2009 at 2:46 am #

    Clint Eastwood did a great job of using his outward crankiness to come across as mean as well as somehow heroic this newest film of his

Leave a Reply

