Making Good Use…

3 Jan

johnadamsminiseries

I just finished watching the John Adams mini-series that aired on HBO in March of 2008.  I’ve always wanted to watch it, but I don’t have HBO and just did not get around to it until now.

Despite a few artistic liberties that were taken at the expense of a completely historically accurate account, I found this seven-part mini-series both exciting and poignant.

In a time where political differences have divided our nation, this piece really spoke to me about the price of freedom, highlighting the trials and tribulations that Mr. Adams and his contemporaries endured to ensure the liberties that we so often take for granted in our modern world.

In this mini-series’  depiction of Adams, I saw a man who was not influenced by party politics, but a man who sought to always do the right, just thing, whether it aligned him with his party or not.

I am not interested in parties anymore.  I am frankly disgusted by the argumentation and slander between the two dominant parties in our country.  Though I will be honest and say that most of my viewpoints are conservative, there are certain issues that are very gray to me.  In other words, I vote for each individual position based on the content of the character of those who are running for elections, not simply because an “R” or a “D” is written behind their names.

More and more, I find myself wondering what our forefathers would think about the state of our union.  I’m not saying that it’s in complete disarray, don’t misunderstand me, but I will admit that I am disillusioned by the behavior of some of our leaders.  The forefathers sought freedom, but they also sought the unification of our people.  In the modern age, this goal sometimes seems impossible.

Despite the fact that I do not agree with every opinion of every person I come into contact with, I am grateful for the liberty that we all have to exercise the right to that freedom of thought.  I only pray that all of us learn to recognize and appreciate those freedoms every day, even in the face of great adversity.

The final words of the mini-series moved me greatly, and as I watched the credits roll, I could not help but repeat them in my mind and in my heart.  Though I am unsure if Adams himself ever penned or spoke these words, I am still sure that it has the ability to move and compel us to be thankful for our independence.  Regardless of our differences, we must learn to recognize the great blessing that it is to live out the liberty that cost so many of our founding fathers their time, their freedom, and their very lives.

“Well, posterity, you will never know what it cost us to preserve your freedom.  I only hope that you will make a good use of it.  If you do not, I shall repent in heaven that I ever took half the pains to preserve it.”

Leave a Reply

