Winding down, looking forward…

23 Apr

The first year of graduate school is coming to an end. It’s interesting how things have changed and evolved over this past year, academically and beyond.

I have finally started to tap into my literary interests. I have just finished a final paper that I am so proud of, and I can honestly say that I enjoyed every step of writing it. Now I’m working on my final paper for Renaissance Literature, and I find myself getting more and more passionate about the subject I’m dealing with. Sometimes the research process seems daunting and drawn out, but I am really enjoying it. I have found that I’m emerging as a feminist critic. I never thought that would happen, but I’m loving it! This new angle is refreshing and very exciting to explore.

It seems amazing to me that nearly a month ago I was contemplating taking a year off from my Master’s program. I was feeling really burnt out, and honestly, it’s the first time that I felt like I just wanted to quit and move on to something else. After many prayers and a lot of time spent thinking about my options, as well as some tough love and good advice from a number of people, I decided that it would be within my best interest to finish up the program next year as planned.

I’m not going to lie, this has been a lot of work, and along the way, it has required some sacrifices. That’s why it feels so amazing to have the support of people such as my family, my boyfriend, and amazing friends, all of whom want me to achieve this goal, as they know that this is one step closer to my ultimate goal of becoming a college professor someday.

Outside of school, I have had the privilege of becoming more involved in my new church, Glad Tidings Assembly of God, through my young adult group, Fourth Dimension. I’ve joined the social team, the greeting team and the worship team. I am really excited to be involved with all of these ministries, but I have to be honest and say that I am incredibly excited about my involvement with the worship team. It feels so good to be singing again!

Aside from the ministry involved with 4D though, I feel so incredibly fortunate that I am creating new friendships with great people. Even though I mess around and act crazy and sarcastic, I am so appreciative of all of you. You are all so priceless and such a blessing to my heart. I came to 4D at a time when I was so heartbroken, and God has used 4D, and all of you, to mend my heart and bring me to a place of such happiness!

I’m thankful. Life isn’t perfect but lately it feels pretty close. I am a blessed woman, and I’m so excited to see where things will go from here.

Leave a Reply

