Speaking of Matthew Fox…

27 Feb

Okay, I can’t take it anymore. I cannot go another day without confessing my love for the tv show Lost!

Technically I can blame my boyfriend for this addiction; he’s the one that got me hooked on Lost. He brought over a set of the first season dvd’s one morning, and we ended up watching all of season one in a weekend! It is addictive. In a matter of three weeks, I had watched all three seasons on dvd, and was awaiting the January 31st Season Premiere with great anticipation!

So…I can’t honestly say that I’ve been a fan from the beginning, but I am certainly a die-hard fan now! Lost is one of my compelling, interesting and imaginative shows on television. J.J. Abrams, the creator of the show, was also behind one of my all-time favorite shows, Alias, so I suppose it’s no surprise that I love this show as well!

I guess it also doesn’t hurt that a cast of great actors is led by Matthew Fox, whom I have always loved and always thought was so underrated. Not only is he extremely talented, and capable of a range of different emotions and roles, but he is certainly handsome and charismatic. I love him in his role as Dr. Jack Shephard. A reluctant hero, sometimes only a moment away from breakdown, his character is so interesting to watch. And though this may sound completely superficial, I really want to see Jack end up with Kate!

I’m also a big fan of the constant references to ideas of science versus faith. John Locke, brilliantly portrayed by Terry O’ Quinn, is a man who represents faith, who believes so strongly in destiny. He has been delivered from paralysis to pursue some greater purpose, and the audience is so privileged to watch it all unfold! On the other side of that, Jack represents science, and doesn’t seem to believe in destiny. However, as the season three finale revealed by way of flash-forwards, it seems that Jack now realizes that he wrong to leave the island, and that he wants to go back!

I think this is one of the only shows where I scream in frustration at the end of the hour, but keep coming back for more the next week. It’s so exhausting not to have all the answers, but at the same time, I have to keep watching if I want to get them. I mean, I have to know, right? I have to find out what the island is all about, why Jack, whom was previously driven by science, is driven to go back to the island he was desperate to escape. I have to find out who the Oceanic 6 are, I just have to know what happens to all of the characters!

Photos courtesy of:
jate-fate.net
lost-media.com
terryoquinn.net

Leave a Reply

