Trust…

28 Nov

I’ve been thinking about this subject a lot since last night, when I talked about it with someone very close to me. Issues of trust are important and difficult. Especially when the person you’re struggling to trust is God.

In the last year of my life I have learned that yes, I have faith in God. Yes, I believe that He can do great things. I’ve seen Him do great things. I’ve seen Him provide. I’ve seen Him work miracles in the lives of people around me. I’ve seen lives changed forever, all because God decided to reach down and touch the heart of a person.

But faith and trust are two completely different things. Just because you have faith doesn’t mean that you trust the Lord with everything you have, everything you are. Listen, I truly believe this, you can pray every minute of every day, know the Bible cover to cover, and do everything you can to help your fellow man, but if you don’t have love in your heart, and trust God to be in control of your life, you’re missing what He intended for you.

Despite the negative things that have happened in my life, I don’t look at God as some maniacal puppet master who is up there laughing every time I’ve fallen on my face. Instead, I view Him as a God of mercy, who sees my future, who knows my purpose, who saved me from things that would have been harmful for me, that would have prevented me from doing what I am called to do in my life.

This is not to say that people don’t have the right to be upset when trials come their way, but rather than wallowing in them and dwelling on the pains of the past, can’t we learn to trust God enough and let Him pull us in the direction He wants us to go? I think He has shown Himself to be more capable than I could ever be at controlling my destiny.

Here’s a reality check, and this is me being blunt because that’s what I do. If I had been left to my own will, I would be married right now. But here’s the thing, I would be miserable. He wasn’t the right man for me. God knew that. And despite the fact that it hurt at the time, God led me into something new. Now I’m in graduate school. And to be honest, this life isn’t all sunshine and rainbows either. When I am finished I will have been in college for 6 years, and I already know I’ll feel burnt out and ready for a break. Some days are hard, some days I wonder if what I’m doing will really amount to anything, but I know…no, I trust that God knows the answer.

So what am I saying? God knows the desires of your heart. He sees your tears, He knows the work that you have put into whatever stage of life you are in right now. Trust Him to lead you to the desires of your heart. He knows you better than you know yourself, He sees your life’s purpose, trust Him to bring it to fruition. He is able. He is just. He is trustworthy.

Leave a Reply

