Changes…

27 Sep

This part of my devotional really spoke to me this morning:

“We become really alive and vital when we learn to accept changes that may be necessary for our growth as willingly as we welcome the coolness that comes in some seasons. Instead of fearing what is different, feeling that change will harm us, we can trust the power of the Spirit of God dwelling within us to bring about what we need to set us free.”

This is really relevant to me, in that the fall season is approaching, and the leaves have begun to change into brilliant shades of red, orange and yellow. It also speaks to my heart because of events that are happening as I write this. God is moving, shaping, changing, and renovating my life.

Some people lament change. I can’t say that I’ve always accepted it with open arms, but I’ve learned that it is vital to my growth in Christ. I truly believe that all change is positive; unfortunately, sometimes the events that bring about the changes are negative and leave us resenting them.

I can honestly say that every event in my life has brought me to where I am now. I could choose to focus on the negative; I could choose to ask God why He allowed me to go through certain things. But I already know the answer. The tough times have made me stronger; they’ve made me lean on God and draw closer to Him when all my other resources were tapped out. I’m not perfect by any means, but day by day, I find myself striving more and more to better myself, to allow God to change me and bring about new revelation and truth in my heart.

Fall has always been my favorite season. The gorgeous colors, the crisp air, the smell of campfires and the taste of warm apple cider leave me looking forward to this time each year. What always strikes me about it as that it’s a time where the old begins to fall away, to pave the way for new life to emerge and grow.

Lord, let the old things fall and pass away. Bury the pains of the past. Breathe Your breath of life into my soul as You prepare my heart for the things You have for me.

Leave a Reply

