Advance confidently…

27 Aug

A new chapter of my life starts today. I have started graduate school and begun a new job. It’s exciting, terrifying, and a little bit sad. With Dr. Nott’s death, nothing on campus really feels the same. He was such a presence in my life here at Kutztown; I don’t think I ever realized how often I stopped in to talk to him, or how often I bumped into him in good ol’ Lytle. Talking to Dr. Forsyth, and helping to take the things off of his door earlier today, well, it’s just difficult.

To be honest, last night I broke down and cried with my mom for a long time. I told her that I wasn’t even sure if I could come back to school; things just seem too hard right now. But almost as soon as the words escaped my lips, Dr. Nott’s words came back to me:

“Advance confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have always imagined.”

He wouldn’t want me to give up. He wouldn’t want me to be caught up in grief. He would want me to live the life I’ve always imagined. I don’t have it all figured out, but I do have dreams. He knew that and he would want me to strive for them.

Lord, give me the strength to pursue the things you have placed before me. Clear my mind of all outside thoughts so that I may devote all of my energy and time to the purpose to which you have called me. Amen.

Leave a Reply

