Withdrawl symptoms…

27 Jun

It seems strange that this blog is still titled “Coffee and Criticism” when I am currently struggling to give up my previous beverage of choice. Man, I miss it! The sweet taste of a coffee with Irish creme, or OOH! mochas with caramel, hazelnut or vanilla (depending on my mood!) added to give it that special touch. YIKES.

I don’t know what made me finally decide to quit coffee cold turkey. Maybe it was the fact that by the end of each day I had consumed around 4-5 cups and I was starting to get the shakes every night. Aside from that, I was having trouble sleeping because I was so wired. And seriously, has anyone ever noticed that coffee makes you feel dehydrated?

Needless to say I’ve been feeling a little less energetic these past few weeks. At first I was just limiting my coffee intake, and then I stopped drinking it completely. OH, the headaches that I’ve been getting! But I will say that I find that I am thinking more clearly, and my attention span is much better (and longer!) as well. Not to mention, I am enjoying wonderful, rested sleep!

I think that by the time I start graduate school, I will allow myself to have a cup a day, but I want to make sure that I don’t grow dependent on it again. I was getting to the place that if I didn’t have a cup of coffee in the morning, I wouldn’t be a very likeable human being for the rest of the day.

For now though, I am not drinking any at all. And while I am starting to feel better overall, I will admit that I am missing it…

Leave a Reply

