Ode to Star Wars…

9 Jun

So…everyone who knows me knows that I absolutely LOVE Star Wars.

But with everything that’s been going on lately, I totally forgot the 30th Anniversary of the theatrical release of A New Hope. Episode IV was released on May 25, 1977.

It wasn’t expected to be a hit by 20th Century Fox, the actors, or even George Lucas. However, audiences responded to the themes, characters and overall grandeur of the film. As most know, Star Wars has become a world-wide phenomenon, and led to two sequels, which were released in 1980 and 1983. The story did not end at the close of Return of the Jedi. A new trilogy was created later, and those films were released in 1999, 2002 and 2005.

People look at me strangely when I talk about these movies. They laugh when my cell phone begins to blare the main theme to Star Wars. Of course, like everyone, I love the characters, themes and overall message of these films. The battle between good and evil leapt off the screen and continues to captivate audiences everywhere.

However, I think a lot of people fail to realize the way these movies,and the processes that it took to create them, revolutionized film-making. Today, as I watching the story behind the creation of the original trilogy, one word kept coming to mind: GENIUS. I can’t believe that this incredible story came from the mind of one man. The fact that he brought it to life on the screen, without sacrificing his own integrity and individuality, is amazing.

So (only a few weeks late!)…this is my ode to Star Wars! May these films capture the imagination of audiences for generations to come!

Here’s a great video I found on youtube with an interesting techno mix of composer John Williams’ Duel of the Fates. Awesome!


Leave a Reply

