In Judah…

9 Jun

My dad pointed out something very interesting to me, as he knows that I have been very stressed these past few weeks.

“In Judah God is known;
his name is great in Israel.” – Psalm 76:1

At first glance, this verse seems to be of minor significance. However, when one places it in the proper context, it take on a completely different meaning altogether.

Judah means “praise” or “to praise”. This is confirmed in Genesis 29:35, when Leah gives birth to a son:

“And she conceived again and bore a son, and said, ‘This time I will praise the Lord.’ Therefore she called his name Judah.

What does mean? What does it speak to my heart right now?

In any trial, even in the seemingly minor stresses we face, it is very easy to begin to think negative thoughts, and in all reality, to lose faith that we can trust in God to work out the details of our lives. I have been losing faith lately. As strong as I try to look or sound, I am only human. I doubt. I worry. I question.

This verse really struck me, when I began to investigate the double meaning behind it. Of course, this is not the only verse where Judah is used to communicate the idea of praise, but I do not have the time to go into that at the moment. This particular verse is so important because I feel it communicates something that I am so passionate about discovering. Just replace the word Judah that is written in the first line of the verse above with its true meaning….praise

“In praise God is known”

Let’s try that again.

“In praise God is known

Very interesting, don’t you think? I’m definitely sensing that someone is trying to tell me something. Negativity gets me nowhere. It only makes me more angry, more worried, feeling more lost as the days go by. But seeking God’s will and praising Him all the while? That creates a whole different feeling in my heart.

I desire to know Him. And if praise is where I must be to know Him…to understand His will for my life…then that’s where I must reside now.

Leave a Reply

