I’ll miss you Gilmore Girls…

15 May

People may consider it to be absolutely ridiculous that I have become so attached to a tv show, but I am really sad that Gilmore Girls is ending its 7-year run tonight. I consider it a bit eccentric at the very least, to be honest. I don’t particularly enjoy tv. I’ve always been one that prefers reading over watching the tube, but I don’t know, from the very beginning, Gilmore Girls reeled me in and I’ve been hooked ever since.

I’ve been watching some of my episode dvds, trying to nail down why the show means so much to me. It isn’t just the witty banter, loaded cultural references, and the weird and complex relationships of the characters. As I thought and thought about it, I realized I feel a deep connection with the relationship between Luke and Lorelai.

Wonderful Luke and Lorelai moments:

Watching this show over the years, I realized after watching the very first scene that these two were meant to be together. Much like couples whose destinies are obviously intertwined, it took them years to see it. He was more than the man who supplied her with a daily cup (or two or three) of coffee, or the guy she bantered and fought with on many occasions; he was a true friend, loyal, thoughtful, and there for her and her daughter throughout the entire show.

As I recently became single again I’ve really been thinking on the relationships I’ve had in my past, and what made them ultimately fail. No blame game here, instead, I have been taking a long hard look at myself and my patterns. I’ve talked to a lot of people about this and I’ve realized some things.

Someday, I want to marry my best friend. That is, I want the man I marry to be my best friend. Someone I can depend on to be loyal, honest, and there for me always. Someone with whom I have a strong foundation of friendship. As I think back I recognize that I never had that with the people I dated. I thought I had it once, but it turned out to be false. I hadn’t given friendship enough time to mature before I pursued romance.

I think that’s part of why I feel so attached to Luke and Lorelai’s relationship. I watched for four seasons as he was there for her, and she for him, and I marveled at their compatibility and true devotion to one another in friendship. And at the end of season four, when they finally got together, I think all GG fans will agree that it was just right.

I think if I were to be completely honest with myself, I would say that I have never felt that any of the relationships I’ve been in were completely right. Though I became pretty good at pretending that everything was perfect, in my heart I had doubts. I knew that I had jumped too soon, or I recognized that the particular guy didn’t have everything that I was looking for.

Timing is everything. I’ve recognized this. Luke and Lorelai have broken up several times, but in the end, they always come back to one another. Despite their issues, they know it’s right. For them, maybe in the past, it wasn’t there time to be together. But now it’s come, because it’s fate.

The finale kiss:

For me, I just want it to feel right. Someday, I want to fall in love with the person who’s meant to be my best friend, my confidante, my protector, my life partner. I don’t want to get married just to do it; I want to get married because it’s right. Because that person makes me feel more complete somehow, because they strengthen and support me. No doubts, no mistrust or dishonesty; I just want it to be right.

I will miss this show for so many reasons. But most of all, I will miss Luke and Lorelai. Because for all of their faults I have learned so much in my years of watching them. Though many factors contributed to the realizations I’ve been having (let’s not give all the credit to fictional tv characters), I know that watching the ups and downs of their relationship has been a big influence in making me see what I want to have someday with the man I end up with. So here’s to Luke and Lorelai.

________________________________________________

The relationship between Lorelai and her daughter Rory also deserves an honorable mention. I’ve loved watching their interactions over the years. Best friends and mother and daughter; these two were amazing.

A great video with clips of Lorelai and Rory, set to “I’ll Stand By You”:

________________________________________________

And finally to the whole cast of Gilmore Girls, thank you so much for the laughter and tears that you have inspired over the past seven years. You will be missed!

A great video that captures the general wackiness of this great show:


One Response to “I’ll miss you Gilmore Girls…”

  1. adventurefilms June 10, 2007 at 9:41 am #

    I watched “Gilmore Girls” for the first 3 years it was on. I was also a big “Everwood” fan.

Leave a Reply

